Money

Plain and simple – don’t seek it.

“Seek first the  kingdom of God  (doing God’s will)… and all these THINGS will be added to you.” (Mt. 6:33) 

file1621250402122

If you look at that verse it is talking about God meeting the basic necessities of life – food, clothing and shelter. We think we are hurting when we don’t have the “extras” in life. Overall we live in a wealthy nation. We have come to expect certain standards and actually believe that we won’t survive without them.

When the electricity goes out in the middle of summer or winter people act like it’s a catastrophe. They think they won’t survive. When we shop at the Goodwill we act like it’s a big deal. Dear God, teach us to be satisfied with just a little.  What’s wrong with wanting to be rich? You can do so much more, you won’t struggle anymore, you can help so many people…. blah, blah, blah.

“Those who want to get rich fall into temptation…” I Tim. 6:9  

Despite overwhelming evidence to the contrary most people still believe that money brings happiness.

The Word of God tells us it puts a craving in us for more and at some point those riches and desires become an idol.  Several years ago I couldn’t find work. I was bemoaning this fact to my elderly neighbor.  I said “I just don’t have the money for extra things.” Wisely she said “Maybe God doesn’t want you to have extra!” Beloved, we will survive without the extra.

Seek God’s kingdom first and God will take care of the rest.

“Lord may I not have so little that it will tempt me to steal – nor may I have so much that I make money an idol and turn away from my true Provider.”  In Jesus name.  amen

Leave a Reply

