Do You Keep Your Word?

Ruth was blind and lived in a nursing home. I had been volunteering at the nursing home by giving massages to the residents there.  Being blind, she especially loved it when she was able to get a massage.  After about 6 months of doing this for free I began to charge a fee as I was unemployed and the little income I received would help us out.

1394334851qvwbu

 

About the time Ruth’s family hired me to give her a weekly massage, I was also hired full-time to work as a chiropractic assistant.  Now I was very busy. One week  she was scheduled to receive her massage on a Tuesday.  I was so busy I thought “I will get to her on Wednesday, she won’t mind.” When Wednesday came around I was so tired from work I called her daughter and asked her if Thursday would be okay. She said that would be fine. You can guess what happened. Friday I was still exhausted.  

Then I thought, “I will get to her next week.”

When I called Ruth’s daughter on Friday she was irate!  She said “My mother is blind.  She only has a few things in life that she looks forward to. She was so thankful she was going to be getting a massage.  You didn’t keep your word! Send me my check back and don’t ever call me again!”

I not only let down a precious old lady that was blind, I let down an entire family.

Matthew 5:37 tells us “Let your yes be yes and your no be no.  All else is evil.”

I did an evil thing.  I sinned.  Anytime we say we are going to do something and we don’t we are in sin. I didn’t say that, the bible does.  You see, you or I may not think it’s a big deal if we don’t keep our word, but to that person, it is a very big deal.  When we don’t keep our word we are liars.

How many times has someone said to you “We’ll get together sometime.” or “I’ll call you.”  or “I’ll have you over for dinner.”  or …….. then you never hear from them.  It hurts.  Remember that hurt because that is exactly what you are doing to others when you don’t keep your word. Then you have sinned.  Say what you mean and mean what you say.  Don’t make empty promises.  

There is too much hurt in this world.  Be one person that is known for keeping their word.

Leave a Reply

