Oil and Wine – Deep Healing

file0001113481683There are some heartaches in life that require a deep healing.  Several years ago I was suffering from the memories of being deeply hurt from some individuals who were close to me. I prayed the https://jackieosinski.wordpress.com/category/balm-of-gilead/page/3/  Balm of Gilead and yet I still ached with hurt and sorrow. I knew that it was not God’s will for me to live in such pain yet I did not know what else I could do. I cried out to God and He brought me to Luke 10, the story of the good Samaritan. I saw a man who was stripped, severely beaten, robbed and left as half dead. As I read I saw that there were two elements that began the healing process.

The Samaritan poured oil and wine on his wounds then he bandaged them up. It was common for travelers during that time period to carry a flask of oil and wine. This was a common sanitizing medicine. The two were beaten together and poured on the wound. The wine was used to cleanse and the oil to quell the pain. Even today the combination of the two elements are considered highly medicinal.

God said “You have been stripped, beaten and left for dead in your spirit. The wounds of your heart need deep inner healing.” He directed me to mix olive oil (or any cooking oil) with a few drops of wine (or grape juice) just so that I could have a teaspoon full. The wine represents the blood of Christ and the oil represents the anointing grace of God’s Spirit.  

Then I prayed “Lord as I partake of the oil and wine I ask that you cleanse and heal the very depths of my inner wounds. Heal my hurts, my memories and all that was said and done to me.”  It was just a matter of minutes when I felt a deep, penetrating peace flooding my entire person.  There have been several times that I have used this technique to bring inner healing and each time I found a profound sense of restoration.

file0002143034119

Karla was a close friend who poured out her heartache to me.  Her husband was very abusive to her and her four children. She told me how she was tormented with the degrading words this man had spoken over her for the last several years. She wept as she shared her devastation and humiliation.  I shared the tool of the oil and wine. I showed her that God’s medicine is just as powerful today as it was 2000 years ago.

As she drank the oil and wine, I prayed for her. She completely relaxed her body. She told me that she felt a great sense of healing and well-being.  It has now been several years since we prayed for Karla.  She is now happily remarried and living a full life.  She recently told me that since our prayer she never again struggled with those abusive wounds. 

Have you been deeply wounded and yet still suffer with the memories? God is waiting to bring you the healing He paid the price for at Calvary.

2 thoughts on “Oil and Wine – Deep Healing

    • Forgiveness starts by choosing to forgive. Say: “I choose to forgive my brother.” Then start to tell the spirit of unforgiveness to leave. Ask God to forgive you for not forgiving and that spirit will leave you. Now remember than when people sin against us we can run away from them. Forgiveness does not mean stay in an abusive relationship. It means you don’t hate nor do you seek vengeance. It means you put boundaries to keep you and your family safe. Not harvesting hate. God bless.

Leave a Reply

