Fear

Many people are driven by fear all their lives and don’t even realize it.  This was how I lived my life until God stepped in and revealed to me what a slave I had been to fear. It was 1997 and I was getting ready for bed. I had two young children and knew that I needed to get to bed early so that I would be prepared for the next day challenges. No sooner had I had gotten in bed when the Holy Spirit spoke. “What are you doing?” 

file0001161786140

“I need to get to bed early so that I will feel good in the morning.”

“No, you are driven by fear.”

It was at that very moment that I saw the truth. The real reason I was going to bed early was because I was worried about not getting enough sleep. I saw my decision was fear motivated. I got into bed and turned to set the alarm for 6 a.m.. “What are you doing?” 

“I need to get up early so that I have enough time to get all my chores done.”

“No, you are fear motivated. You are fearful of not having enough time in the morning to accomplish what needs to be done.”

Once again I saw that another of my actions was driven by fear. In the forthcoming days, weeks and years I began to see that much of my life was driven by fear. I was always worrying about what could happen or what might not happen. I saw that up to that point I was a fear-driven person. I began to ask the Holy Spirit to show me each time my motives were fear driven instead of faith driven. Time and time again I saw fear directing my life. Each time I would stop, recognize the situation and redirect my mindset.

Fear didn’t leave my life automatically. I had to purposely retrain my mind and my way of thinking. I had to stand on many bible verses each time I was tempted to act in fear instead of faith.

“I have not been given a spirit of fear but power, love and a sound mind.”

I would repeat this verse out loud over and over each time I could feel the fear creeping up inside of me. Little by little the stronghold of fear began to lose its grip on me. My life became calmer, more peaceful. Life became clearer and began to make more sense.

Stop and ask yourself “What motivates me throughout the day?” Is it fear or faith? Begin to ask yourself this question as you go about your day-to-day routine. When you find fear begin to say “God has not given me a spirit of fear but power, love and a sound mind.” Ask the Holy Spirit to begin to show you each time fear is driving you. You will soon find awareness is the first step in overcoming the spirit of fear.

I encourage you to read The Armor of God https://jackieosinski.wordpress.com/category/armor-of-god/page/3/ to teach you to warfare against fear and to give you the authority to daily stand against it.

3 thoughts on “Fear

  1. This is a good post. 🙂 I have strugged with fear for YEARS. So much so that I have gone through a depressive state. A certain fear I was having tormented me to point of depression. When I was able to get rid of it the first time, the next time it came back was worse. Fear is terrible. It can really ruin a person if they let it control them. Thank you for this post! It hits home for me.

    • Friend, thanks so much for sharing your heart. When you are tormented with fear it feels like you will never be free. Yet, I am a living testimony of the Power of God’s Word & the Holy Spirit and how we can be COMPLETELY set free from ALL fear. I am praying for you that you too will find complete freedom from fear. Don’t stop until you do! GOD BLESS YOU!

Leave a Reply

