HOW I GOT SET FREE FROM CAFFEINE ADDICTION

coffee_cup_202144Millions of Americans have a caffeine addiction. It is no longer solely adults that have an addiction – we now have a generation of young people who have grown up on energy drinks, soda and polar pops. It is having an effect on our entire physiology. People are anxious, tired, depressed, exhausted and mentally fatigued due to caffeine.  Caffeine has exhausted our adrenal glands and overworked our tired bodies. Caffeine is not good. In very small amounts caffeine can be tolerated – but the smallest excess is detrimental.

Caffeine Blues by Stephen Cherniske is a tremendous book about the horrible side effects caffeine has on our bodies  https://jackieosinski.wordpress.com/category/health-2/

Page after page clearly points out the direct effect that caffeine has on our moods. He found that aggression, anger and even depression all have a direct link to caffeine. He points out that even moderate amounts of coffee have an effect on our entire physiology.

Cherniske teaches us that each part of the body – everything from the heart, brain, personality and blood sugar levels are directly impacted by just one cup of coffee.  Caffeine can have detrimental effects on those who are diabetic or hypoglycemic.  He goes on to bring out the fact that caffeine impedes calcium absorption. We have many women with osteoporosis due to the continual drinking of caffeine loaded drinks.

We’d all have more energy, healthier bones, better dispositions and more stable blood sugar levels if we were completely off caffeine.

I had known for years that if I could break the caffeine addiction I would feel much stronger, more energetic and wouldn’t be setting myself up for osteoporosis.  I just didn’t want to get off of it. I love the smell and taste of a hazelnut latte. I knew I needed to quit – I just didn’t have the fortitude. I began to pray “Lord, give me the desire to want to get off coffee. Even if you have to make me sick each time I drink it – do whatever it takes to set me free.”

Like any addiction it can be a long-term struggle. Finally God gave me the desire to completely remove caffeine from my diet. It was a minute by minute process. I struggled tremendously. My body and mind cried out for  ENERGY! I continued to pray for God’s help and strength. I would take naps when I felt so exhausted I couldn’t move.  My body had to relearn to rely on natural strength and not chemically induced energy. It was a day by day process. Several times I allowed myself a cup of green tea. The tea helped tremendously and gave me the small boost to make it through the day.

Green tea is absorbed in a different way than other types of caffeine. It is absorbed slowly and released slowly. Therefore it gives a long-term boost that is much gentler on your body and emotions. I also found that having a hot chocolate in the morning has really helped curb my morning coffee cravings. 

I began getting completely off of caffeine 7 years ago. I have had many relapses but I always pray for the strength to get back on track. Now I am caffeine-free except for the occasional cup of green tea. At first it feels like you will never survive. If you take it one day at a time God will give  you the strength and fortitude to make it through. What I have now found is that I have more energy, my emotions are much more stable and I have much more peace in my life. I am able to look back at my life and see how much unnecessary anxiety was produced by caffeine. I have a clearer mind and a greater sense of well-being. Below are the steps I took to be completely set free.

1) Ask God to give you the desire and drive to get off of caffeine.

2) Find a few people who can be your prayer support during the duration of your breaking the addiction.

3) If you take it one minute at a time you will have greater victory and progress. Don’t think ahead. Get victory one day at a time. 

4) When necessary use green tea or drink de-caf coffee.

5) Drink pure water. No flavored waters as that has splenda and will damage your body.

6) Determine in your mind that the more you get off caffeine the more energy you will soon have. Say this out loud to convince yourself. 

7) Be patient with yourself. If you slip up just get back on track. It’s a process and doesn’t happen overnight.

8) Start your caffeine cleansing on a day where you will have the next few days off to rest & drink plenty of water.  Stay-Cations are the best time.

*  Here are some of the symptoms that you may encounter as your body is flushing out the caffeine and experiencing withdrawal:

  • Anger
  • Frustration
  • Extreme tiredness
  • Agitation
  • Constipation
  • Aggression
  • Moodiness and irritability.  

These symptoms can last up to several weeks. I found that after only a few days they became less frequent. Having someone pray for you as you are going through withdrawal can help tremendously.  It will only be about 2 weeks before you will slowly begin to notice that you are sleeping better, less moody and have more energy. After several months you will begin to see a significant difference. No matter what don’t give up.

If you don’t give up you will succeed. 

See my prayer for caffeine addiction https://jackieosinski.wordpress.com/2013/10/03/prayer-for-caffeine-addiction/

One thought on “HOW I GOT SET FREE FROM CAFFEINE ADDICTION

  1. Anyone who would like a very easy way to quit caffeine should try tapping or EFT. Look it up on the internet, it really works! I used it to stop drinking alcohol easily, the best part, no meetings!

Leave a Reply

