HOW ONE VITAMIN TRANSFORMED MY LIFE

Everyone wants energy for life. Everyone wants to feel good and look good. No one likes being sick. I am no different. Three years ago I heard an 82-year-old man being interviewed on his secret to amazing health and vitality. He said one thing “VITAMIN C.” He then went on to explain that for 28 years he has been taking 3000 mg. of Vitamin C on a daily basis and that ever since that time he has never been sick. This really made me stop and think.

I had been struggling with chronic fatigue, swollen glands, dizziness and an assortment of other various maladies. My physician ran every test possible – from lyme disease to mono. – he could find nothing wrong with me. I knew better. I knew that my body was lacking the ability to fight off infections and various ailments. I didn’t need to have it spelled out – my body was functioning poorly.

file000601837510

When I heard about this elderly gentleman I upped my Vitamin C intake. I could barely struggle with downing the chewable tablets and could only handle    2000 mg. During this  time my neck glands were continually swollen  and I was horribly exhausted. Then it was a divine moment when I heard a physician speaking about the signs of scurvy. He began to reiterate what he was seeing in his office.

“Many people come in because they are achy and tired. Their muscles feel sore. They feel exhausted. Interestingly, these are the early warning signs of scurvy.”

The interviewer said “Are you saying we have people walking around today with scurvy?”

The physician went on to say “I feel it is safe to say that many people are suffering from a vitamin C deficiency and we are seeing the physical symptoms of this. Yes, it is also possible that a certain percentage of people are experiencing the early signs of scurvy.”

Scurvy was at one time common among sailors and others aboard ships where perishable fruits and vegetables could not  be stored. The symptoms of  scurvy are aches, pains,  loosening of teeth, poor wound healing, emotional changes, dry mouth and dry eyes.  Without vitamin C these poor men died a slow and painful death.

file0001739516120

It was shortly after hearing the second interview that I determined I needed to up my Vitamin C .  I purchase powered Vitamin C and began taking 5000 milligrams daily in lemonade. After only  2 months my swollen glands began to diminish in size. I began having more energy. After a year I noticed I felt stronger, more energetic. Each time I would begin to feel a cold or infection coming on I would up the level just a little and I would never get sick. For over a year now I have not struggled with sickness – whereas normally I would have colds, sore throats, etc. . 

Overdose is rare except in people with predisposing conditions as Vitamin C is non-toxic. Use wisdom. When your body has had enough Vitamin C it will let you know by giving you a mild case of diarrhea. If you are taking 3000 mg. and you don’t have the runs then you can slowly up it until you feel your body telling you to stop  – by expelling the excess through loose stools. Your body will keep absorbing as much as it needs.

Some of the benefits of Vitamin C: It is an essential nutrient  for humans. It acts as an antioxidant by protecting the body against oxidative stress. Vitamin C builds up your cell walls – thus helping to avoid easy bruising. Vitamin C helps ensure that your blood vessels dilate in a safe manner – this prevents hypertension from occurring. Another aspect of Vitamin C benefits are its effects on our eyes.  Vitamin C is an antioxidant which keeps our eyes healthy by counteracting the free radicals and is also incredibly useful for cataract prevention. Vitamin C is also a vital nutrient for asthma patients.  Asthma patients often need Vitamin C in larger doses because it acts as an antioxidant in their lungs and air pipes. It also builds up your immune system so that you can easily fight disease and infections.

Vitamin C is also helpful for people who have diabetes.   Vitamin C can help people maintain their blood sugar levels. People with diabetes often don’t have enough Vitamin C in their cells due to a lack of insulin so taking extra Vitamin C can help compensate for the lack of Vitamin C.

There are so many benefits to Vitamin C that it is to no surprise there are many books written solely for that purpose. Vitamin C has changed my life. I feel better than I have in 20 years. I am so thankful the Lord allowed me to hear the two interviews and ultimately find the powered source which is easy to take.

file0001498169620

If you are going to start out with Vitamin C make sure your vitamin has no additives, especially sugar. Often times manufacturers add fillers and sugar. You will waste your money if you don’t read labels.  Purchase your vitamins from a reputable source such as Puritan’s Pridehttp://www.puritan.com/ or Swanson’s Health Products http://www.swansonvitamins.com/ 

Start out with just 1000  mg. and slowly up it until you begin to have loose stools.

Keep taking it permanently. You won’t see results immediately, it could take weeks or a month, but eventually you will find that Vitamin C really can transform your life – it did for me.

8 thoughts on “HOW ONE VITAMIN TRANSFORMED MY LIFE

  1. Ive been a vitamin c experimenter for about 4 years after reading what is probably the best book on the subject: Irwin Stone’s “The Healing Factor”. Thats the guy that clued Linus Pauling in on Vitamin C.

    Anyway, I noticed that after I experimented with Time Released C, I was consistently getting up 30-45 minutes earlier with a lot less tiredness than usual (The tiredness was not orignally large, but was clearly diminished all the same).

    Before this, I would have taken 1,000MG Vit C capsule at bedtime to no effect. I guess, Vitamin C being Water Soluble, was out of my system in a few short hours.

    Moral of the story: Experiment with Time Release C. I personally, after much experimentation, Nature’s Bounty Time Release 500mg Vitamin C. 1 pill every 8 hours along with a 1,000mg normal C capsule.

  2. How much do you take as your maintenance? Once you started feeling better than ever, did you drop to a maintenance level of Vitamin C? Or are you still taking 5000 ml daily? Is there a particular type or brand you recommend? I started taking Vitamin C recently for the first time. It seems to be making a difference on the overall way that I feel, even though I am only taking about 500 to 1000 ml a day. Not sure if I need to or should take more per day or is what I am taking sufficient?

    • Here is the way I see it – the stress of life changes and so does our need for Vitamin C. During the winter months I can tell my body needs a higher level so it can vary anywhere from 5000 mg to 10000 mg – depending on what I am dealing with. For example, as soon as I feel a sore throat or cold coming on I up my intake – it always knocks the problem out. But I don’t drink any orange or grapefruit juice, nor do I get much Vitamin C from other sources. During the summer I only take about 5000 mg. on a daily basis – the warm weather and lower stress levels don’t require a higher dose. Remember, it’s a daily adjustment. Be in tune to your body. I have had weeks when I need to take a very high does every day until I was feeling stronger. How do you know if you are taking enough? You up the dose until you get very loose stools – this tells you that you body is now excreting the extra. This does not hurt you – it’s just a good indicator. If you feel good on what you are now taking then keep at that level. It can take a while to experiment and see what your body is calling for. I have found that my intake is pretty constant in the summer but varies tremendously in the winter. The only brand I take is Puritan’s Pride Pure Vitamin C Crystals.

  3. I have been searching for almost 8 years for something that can help me with my chronic fatigue and mild depression. I am 25 years old and I was at a point that I felt like I was 65 years old and just tired for no reason at all. I was a caffeine addict because I wanted that energy but I did not have time to research other sources. I stopped drinking caffeine so heavily and now just drink green tea once in a while. I started 3000 mg of Vitamin C about 1 week ago and I feel like a whole new person. I cannot believe the difference that this vitamin can make. I am very thankful that God has finally helped me find something so that I can finally start living my life like a normal 25 year old!!!

    • Praise God Maria! This is wonderful! How many millions of other women are suffering in the same way and don’t know why! I too drink green tea and I do believe it can be beneficial. Keep up the great work and don’t stop spreading the good news!

  4. I concur!!!
    Here are the benefits I have noticed:
    Better cognitive function
    Better vision
    Better hand-eye coordination
    Better muscle tone
    Better sleep
    Less bruising
    Better balance (I can now enjoy swinging…on a swing without feeling dizzy)
    I can tolerate noise better
    I enjoy heavy rock (used to bother me)
    Better skin
    Better hair

Leave a Reply

