The Quickest Way to Calm the Storm in Your Heart

The other morning the phone rang. It was a 20-year-old friend of the family.

“Hey there Alicia, what’s going on?

“I am so upset. I’m breaking out and I have been feeling like throwing up. I’ve started a new job and my new boss is vulgar, intimidating and yells at everyone. Whenever I ask a question he just screams at me. He makes me feel so foolish. I don’t think I can take it anymore.”

As she was speaking I was praying. I said “Alicia, the Word tells us in Mark 6:51

“Jesus climbed into the boat and the wind stopped.”

Lake view

I continued speaking to her. I said “Right now I want you to picture Jesus walking on the water. Perhaps you can see all of Him perhaps you can only see His feet. He is walking towards you. He is getting closer and closer. Now He quietly steps into your heart. Right there in your heart He stops the storm of fear, worry and anxiety. You are now in a small boat. It is quietly rocking back and forth. It is a gentle rocking like on a lake. There is no fear or worry. Jesus is in the boat with you and all is well.”

When I was done speaking she said she felt peace. I told her that she can bring herself back into that tranquil boat at any time. I reminded her that each time Jesus steps into the boat there is always calm.

Several days later I was in Depression Support Group. We had one woman who was anxious about her upcoming operation to have a large tumor removed. Another woman was anxious because she was out of work. A young man was struggling with anxiety due to the bleak economic outcome. An elderly lady recently had to endure the tragedy of a close friend’s brutal murder. Each person there was struggling with some sort of fear or anxiety.

I walked the group through this same exercise. I had everyone close their eyes and relax. As I spoke very slowly I had them visualize Jesus on the water walking towards them then gently entering their hearts. We finished up with everyone quietly imagining themselves in a softly rocking boat with all the storms being completely calmed.

When we were done we had several wonderful testimonies of people feeling a great sense of peace, relief and tranquility. The woman who has the tumor said she felt all her fear leave her. Overall there was a greater sense of well-being. Peace permeated the room.

What troubles you? What are you having to face? What is disturbing you? What are you fearful of? Take time to find a quiet place. Turn off your phone. Tell your family you don’t want to be disturbed for 30 minutes. Now, take 5 – 10 deep breaths. Clear your mind. Begin the exercise. Visualize everything very clearly. Allow God’s presence to heal your situation. When you are finished take a moment to journal your feelings and outcome. You can do this each time fear overwhelms you. You can do it anywhere and anytime.

“There is no fear in Love.” 1 John 4:18

Beloved, it is never God’s will for you to fear. Let Jesus into your boat. Let Him drive away all your cares.

I have prayed for you.

I encourage you to read The Armor of God https://jackieosinski.wordpress.com/category/armor-of-god/page/3/ to teach you to warfare against fear and to give you the authority to daily stand against it.

3 thoughts on “The Quickest Way to Calm the Storm in Your Heart

  1. It is beautiful how we can speak peace to others and ourselves through what Jesus said or did. It brings me great comfort to know that God wants us to meditate on and breathe in His word. We seek a quiet place with Him and He gives us rest. As an anxious person, I use this method to help myself. I pray for peace and rest for you, me and all the ones you speak of.
    Rick

    • Howdy Rick, your words are so true. We receive life, purpose, power and direction through the words of Christ. This is why we must DAILY ingest, memorize & study God’s Word. In the dark days that we are living in we will only have overcoming lives through the light of God’s love and Word. Thanks friend for all your prayers. You are a blessing to the Body of Christ.

Leave a Reply

