Why I Ride My Bike In the Snow

IMG_6585

 

I just got back from a beautiful bike ride in the snow. It was gorgeous out. Yes, that is me in the picture. The temperature was about 9 degrees. Not too cold for a bike ride. I have always said:

“If we don’t challenge ourselves we won’t grow.”

Winter months can be the most difficult. We get cooped up in the house, we become despondent, life becomes arduous and miserable. I run in the snow. I cross-country ski. Today I decided that a bike ride would be a nice change of pace.

As I got on my bike I felt like I was floating on a cloud. The sun was shining, the snow was glistening and I was outside enjoying the beautiful day. When everyone else was either inside or in their cars I was out challenging myself. 

Not only did I feel empowered today but I encouraged others to get out as well. When a neighbor saw we me stopped and chatted. He said “I’m jealous.”

I said “Buy a mountain bike and come riding with me.”

We limit ourselves don’t we? We say “I couldn’t do that, I might fall. I am not coordinated enough. It’s too cold. It’s too windy…..” We are really good at making excuses.

What can you do to get outside today? What can you do to challenge yourself? What can you do to empower yourself? Stop making excuses and get out there and do it.

It’s a beautiful day for a bike ride, won’t you join me?

Leave a Reply

